Caravan Palace

Caravan Palace is a French electronic music band based in Paris. The band’s influences include Django Reinhardt, Vitalic, Lionel Hampton, and Daft Punk. The band released their debut studio album, Caravan Palace, on the Wagram label in October 2008. The record charted in Switzerland, Belgium, and France, where it reached a peak position of number 11.

Caravan Palace formed as a three-piece when they were recruited to compose the soundtrack for a silent adult film. Loïc Barrouk took an interest in the project and booked the band a recording studio and a series of gigs. More performers were required for the live concerts and the other three current band members were found after searching on MySpace.

The band became popular on the internet after releasing a number of demos and promo singles. From 2006 to 2007 they spent a year touring around France, and their first festival appearance came at the Django Reinhardt Jazz Festival in 2007. Following this emergence, the group were signed by the Paris-based Wagram Music record label. They spent the next year recording material for their debut studio album.

On 20 October 2008 the self-titled Caravan Palace was released, preceded by the single “Jolie Coquine”. The album received praise for its traditional jazz inclinations, and placed in a number of European albums charts. In Switzerland, the album reached number 72 and in Belgium it achieved a position of 42. The album performed best in the band’s native France where it attained a peak position of 11 in August 2009, and remained on the French albums chart for 68 consecutive weeks. The band released their second official single, “Suzy”, on 24 February 2009.

On 3 October 2011, the band released an EP titled Clash, featuring two new songs and four remixes of them. The band’s second album, Panic, was released on 5 March 2012. In 2014, the band remixed Drake Bell’s single “Bitchcraft”. The band released the single “Comics” on 22 June 2015, and their second single “Lone Digger” on 18 September 2015.

Caravan Palace’s third studio album, Robot Face <|°_°|>, was released on 16 October 2015. They made a video for their track “Mighty” and previewed another song, “Wonderland”, in a short promotional video. In 2015, they appeared on Later… With Jools Holland on 27 and 30 October, and on The Jonathan Ross Show on 31 October. Subsequently, they appeared on Jools’ Annual Hootenanny on 31 December 2016/January 1, 2017 singing a cover of Black Betty and Lone Digger. On 4 February 2019 the band announced the release of a new single titled “MIRACLE” on 8 February 2019!

Electro Swing Radio